Tech

PS4 owners are freaking out about a malicious message that is crashing their consoles

PS4 owners are warning other users on social media of a malicious message circulating the network which contains strange characters that can cause the Sony console to crash.

The big issue is that deleting the malicious message will not be enough in this case. Simply receiving a notification of this message will cause your PS4 to seize up and possibly crash.

Merely removing the message could work only if the user was not logged onto their PSN account during the time the message was sent.

WARNING: Set your messages to private from r/PS4

The glitch caused by this issue is so bad that some users are forced to perform a factory reset for their consoles, or completely rebuild the database in “safe mode” for the PS4 to work again.

In the meantime, there are a few steps you can take to eliminate the chance of receiving the message, which is probably the best option so far.

1) You can do that by heading over to the console settings, visiting account management, and then just change the privacy settings to receive messages from friends only (or you can completely turn off the messages).

2) Another way you can do this is by going to this URL in your browser. Log onto your PS4 account, select “Personal Info | Messages” and then choose the edit button. Choose friends only, or no one.

In case your PS4 has already been affected, the best possible option would be to rebuild the database in safe mode.

According to Sony, this: “Scans the drive and creates a new database of all content on the system. This operation may take a long time depending on the type and number of data items.

This option is useful for cleaning up the data on your PS4 as it reorganizes everything on the hard drive. Select this option if you are experiencing issues such as game freezes or frame rate drops.”

Sony has still not commented on this issue, however, the tech company is likely to resolve it using a software update in the upcoming weeks.