Tech

Facebook’s unsend feature will give you a 10 minute window to delete sent messages

Today, Facebook announced a feature that will allow you to delete messages on Facebook Messenger after 10 minutes of originally sending them. This feature will be provided in the updated version of Messenger 191.0.

To put this into perspective, Facebook quietly enabled a “delete messages” feature on WhatsApp for messages that have been sent for up to an hour.

The feature was initially introduced back in October, and only allowed you to delete messages that were sent in a span of a few minutes. However, WABetaInfo noted that the updated version lasted for an hour, eight minutes and 16 seconds. This meant that on WhatsApp you could delete an entire conversation from a friend’s device, however, the note “this message was deleted” will show in place of the text, photo or video. 

The mere 10 minute window for deleting messages on Messenger doesn’t seem too appealing, but it is likely to be extended after a trial period.

The “unsend” feature on Messenger has been in the works since early April. At that time, Facebook admitted to deleting messages sent by Mark Zuckerberg the CEO of the company.

TechCrunch had initially pointed out that Facebook was deleting Zuckerberg’s Messenger messages quietly. Following the news which went viral, the company announced that the feature will be available soon for the public to use. A spokesperson told tech crunch: “Facebook internally tests products and features before they ship to the public so we can ensure the quality of the experience.”